NASCAR championship: Detailed breakdown, odds of the final 4 drivers competing for a title at Phoenix

First there were 16 NASCAR Cup Series playoff drivers, then 12, then eight and now we’re down to the final four. Joey Logano, Chase Elliott, Ross Chastain and Christopher Bell will compete against each other (and the rest of the field) in Sunday’s championship race at Phoenix Raceway (3 p.m. ET, NBC). Since 2020, the one-mile desert track has hosted NASCAR’s championship weekend, but to win the title, these drivers don’t actually have to win the race — although that often happens anyway. A non-playoff driver could take the checkered flag, but the champion will be the driver with the highest finish of the Championship 4. So one of them just has to beat the other three for the crown. Here’s a detailed breakdown of how the Championship 4 drivers got here and how they’ve previously performed at Phoenix, along with their season stats and title odds, per Tipico Sportsbook as of Tuesday. "(function() {var sc = document.createElement(\"script\"), scCnter = document.getElementById(\"container-sdp-voltax-player-01evcfkb10bw5a3nky-9491\"), done = false;sc.src = mm_video_data.endpointUrl + \"\/01evcfkb10bw5a3nky.js\";sc.onload = sc.onreadystatechange = function() {if(!done && (!this.readyState || this.readyState == \"loaded\" || this.readyState == \"complete\")) {sdpVoltax[\"01evcfkb10bw5a3nky-9491\"].initializePlayer( {\"id\":\"01ggr1ng1sj0rcb4ywxh\",\"playlist_id\":\"\",\"player_id\":\"01evcfkb10bw5a3nky\",\"type\":\"video\",\"image\":\"https:\\\/\\\/\\\/image\\\/upload\\\/video\\\/thumbnail\\\/mmplus\\\/01ggr1ng1sj0rcb4ywxh\\\/01ggr1ng1sj0rcb4ywxh-0cc7bb9e593b055a3cac3811fc6daf51.jpg\",\"container_id\":\"01evcfkb10bw5a3nky-9491\"});done = true; sc.onload = sc.onreadystatechange = null; }};scCnter.appendChild(sc);})();"var sdpVoltax = window.sdpVoltax || []; sdpVoltax["01evcfkb10bw5a3nky-9491"] = sdpVoltaxPlayerHandler().start("01evcfkb10bw5a3nky-9491");